top of page

Video: Master Structure in Storytelling with the Freytag Pyramid.

Are your struggling to write the plot of your book? Maybe you know your characters and the main conflict and even the setting. But, it can be hard to know how to start and incorporate all aspects of your great story. The truth is, even the best writers are overwhelmed. Enter, the Freytag Pyramid.

The Freytag Pyramid, named after German novelist Gustav Freytag, is a literary device used to map the structure of a dramatic narrative, particularly in works of fiction. It outlines the five essential stages of a story, helping authors craft compelling plots that build to a climax and resolution.

The 5 Stages of Freytag’s Pyramid:

Rising Action
Falling Action

Need to chat about your story? Email me at I would love to hear from you.

Thank you for watching! And, happy writing.

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page